New Jersey Parentage

Paternity testing can cost up to $500, not including attorneys fees, should you desire representation.

If the father of your child contests paternity, you should file a Paternity Complaint wherein a hearing will take place and a paternity test will be scheduled. N.J.S.A. 9:17-38 is known as the New Jersey Parentage Act.

There are certain instances where paternity is presumed.

Parentage is presumed where the man and the child’s mother were married when the child was born or the child is born within 300 days after the marriage is terminated by death or divorce.

Other instances include attempted marriage, acknowledgement of paternity, holding the child out as your own, providing support for the child, and where the mother does not dispute acknowledgement of paternity.

If none of the circumstances apply, and you and the potential father maintain a friendly relationship, see if the potential father will get tested without a court order. If this is done, and it is proved that he in fact is the father, try to work out a written child support agreement.

Of course, at this stage, it is always best to hire an attorney. An attorney will advise you on what you should look for in terms of a weekly support amount, health insurance, life insurance, and even college expenses.